Press ReleasesSituation Updates

Thailand eases more COVID-19 curbs

More COVID-19 curbs in most parts of the kingdom have been eased from 1 November, 2021, to facilitate the wider country reopening to vaccinated visitors from around the world.

Updated on 15 November, 2021

Bangkok – The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) would like to provide an update on the latest announcement by the Royal Thai Government that further adjusted colour-zoning for different provinces from 16 November, 2021, while maintaining the relaxed COVID-19 controls up and down the country, particularly in the ‘Blue Zone’ destinations in 17 provinces.

This means nearly all businesses and activities in the Blue Zone destinations can continue to open with “New Normal” operations. These include all shopping venues, convenience stores, markets, cinemas and theatres, sports venues, hair salons and barbershops, massage and spa shops, beauty and aesthetic clinics, and tattoo shops.

Restaurants and eateries can also resume normal opening hours. Meetings, events, and fairs can be also held normally with no limitation on the number of attendees.

However, all types of entertainment venues, including pubs, bars, and karaoke shops nationwide are to remain closed.

Similar relaxed measures for the Blue Zone provinces have also been extended to the 5 yellow zone provinces, newly designated from 1 November, 2021, with the exception for events and activities that must be organised with the number of attendees capped at below 1,000.

Provinces in the red and orange zones have also seen the COVID-19 restrictions being relaxed further, with malls, markets, convenience stores, and cinemas being allowed to resume normal hours.

Restaurants and eateries in the orange zone can resume normal hours while in the red and dark-red zones must close at 23.00 Hrs. and 22.00 Hrs., respectively. The sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages for dine-in customers remain prohibited in the orange, red, and dark-red zones.

Businesses and activities in the 6 remaining dark-red zone provinces can resume normal hours but no later than 22.00 Hrs., as the night-time curfew (from 23.00 – 03.00 Hrs.) remains in place for another 15 days or until 30 November.

Meetings and events in the red and dark-red zones can be organised for less than 500 attendees. Meanwhile, provinces in the orange zone can arrange more engaging activities; such as, sports tournaments, food fairs, and the likes for no more than 1,000 attendees.

Measures for the designated blue zone areas in the 13 other provinces will be according to the provincial colour zoning.

The Blue Zone Sandbox Destinations

Thailand’s colour-zoning for COVID-19 control in place for the following provinces (as of 16 November, 2021):

6 Maximum and Strict Controlled Areas or dark-red zone provinces

Northern Region: Tak, and Southern Region: Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Songkhla, and Yala.

39 Strict Controlled Areas or red zone provinces

Central Region: Ang Thong, Ayutthaya, Kanchanaburi, Lop Buri, Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Pathom, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Ratchaburi, Samut Prakan, Samut Sakhon, Samut Songkhram, Saraburi, and Suphan Buri; Eastern Region: Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi, Chon Buri, Prachin Buri, Rayong, Sa Kaeo, and Trat; Northern Region: Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Nakhon Sawan, Phichit, Phitsanulok, and Phetchabun; Northeastern Region: Khon Kaen, Nakhon Ratchasima, Ubon Ratchathani, and Udon Thani; and Southern Region: Chumphon, Phatthalung, Ranong, Satun, Surat Thani, and Trang.

23 Controlled Areas or orange zone provinces

Central Region: Chai Nat and Sing Buri; Northern Region: Kamphaeng Phet, Lampang, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Phayao, Phrae, Sukhothai, Uthai Thani, and Uttaradit; Northeastern Region: Amnat Charoen, Buri Ram, Chaiyaphum, Kalasin, Maha Sarakham, Si Sa Ket, Surin, Loei, Nong Bua Lam Phu, Nong Khai, Roi Et, and Yasothon.

5 Areas Under Stringent Surveillance or yellow zone provinces

Northern Region: Nan; and Northeastern Region: Bueng Kan, Nakhon Phanom, Mukdahan, and Sakhon Nakhon.

4 Pilot Tourist Destinations or blue zone provinces

Central Region: Bangkok; and Southern Region: Krabi, Phang-Nga, and Phuket, as well as the designated areas in 13 other provinces.

Show More

TAT Newsroom

The TAT International Public Relations Division works with traditional and online media channels to promote Thailand as a tourism destination for travellers worldwide.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights