Press ReleasesSituation Updates

Thailand further eases COVID-19 curbs nationwide, allowing New Year countdown festivities

Effective from 16 December, the new round of relaxation is in line with the ‘smart control and living with COVID-19’ approach.

Bangkok, 16 December, 2021 – The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) would like to provide an update on the three latest announcements published last night (15 December, 2021) in the Royal Thai Government Gazette that relax more COVID-19 restrictions nationwide, allowing the New Year countdown festivities, and further easing rules for travellers entering Thailand.

The New Year countdown festivities will be allowed to take place under the COVID-free setting guidelines, which include vaccination requirement, universal prevention, health and hygiene measures, and antigen testing. All events must ensure that everyone be fully vaccinated. Events with at least 1,000 participants must also ensure that everyone has received a negative antigen test result 72 hours prior to the event. Open-air restaurants with good ventilation nationwide will be allowed to serve alcoholic drinks to customers during the New Year countdown until 01.00 Hrs. on 1 January, 2022.

TAT is also planning a number of New Year countdown festivities in unique locations up and down the country, and the TAT Newsroom will be releasing a press release on this as soon as official details are confirmed.

Details on the further easing of rules for travellers entering Thailand from 16 December, 2021, is available on

Meanwhile, also effective from 16 December, 2021, Thailand’s colour zoning has been reduced to three zones: Pilot Tourist Areas or blue zone, Areas Under Stringent Surveillance or yellow zone, and Controlled Areas or orange zone.

8 “Blue Zone” Provinces + 18 Provinces with ‘Blue Zone” Districts

Central Region: Bangkok, and Ayutthaya (Mueang district only), Kanchanaburi, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi (Cha-am district only), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Mueang, Hua Hin, and Nong Kae districts only), and Samut Prakan (Suvarnabhumi Airport only).

Eastern Region: Chanthaburi (only for Mueang and Tha Mai districts), Chon Buri, Rayong (Ko Samet only), and Trat (Ko Chang and Ko Kut districts only).

Northern Region: Chiang Mai (Mueang, Chom Thong, Doi Tao, Mae Rim, and Mae Taeng districts only), and Chiang Rai (Mueang, Chiang Khong, Chiang Saen, Mae Chan, Mae Fah Luang, Mae Sai, Phan, Thoeng, Wiang Kaen, and Wiang Pa Pao districts only).

Northeastern Region: Buri Ram (Mueang district only), Khon Kaen (Mueang, Khao Suan Kwang, Poei Noi, Phon, Phu Wiang, and Ubolratana districts only), Loei (Chiang Khan district only), Nakhon Ratchasima (Mueang, Chaloem Phra Kiat, Chok Chai, Pak Chong, Phimai, Sikhio, and Wang Nam Khiao districts), Nong Khai (Mueang, Sangkhom, Si Chiang Mai and Tha Bo districts only), Surin (Mueang and Tha Tum districts only), and Udon Thani (Mueang, Ban Dung, Kumphawapi, Na Yung, Prachaksilpakhom, and Nong Han districts only).

Southern Region: Krabi, Phang-Nga, Phuket, Ranong (Ko Phayam only), and Surat Thani (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao only).

30 Areas Under Stringent Surveillance or yellow zone provinces

Central Region: Ang Thong, Chai Nat, Nakhon Pathom, Samut Songkhram, and Sing Buri; Northern Region: Kamphaeng Phet, Nakhon Sawan, Nan, Phayao, Phichit, Phrae, Sukhothai, Uthai Thani, and Uttaradit; and Northeastern Region: Amnat Charoen, Bueng Kan, Buri Ram*, Chaiyaphum, Kalasin, Loei*, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nong Bua Lamphu, Nong Khai*, Roi Et, Sakhon Nakhon, Si Sa Ket, Surin*, and Yasothon.

39 Controlled Areas or orange zone provinces

Central Region: Ayutthaya*, Lop Buri, Nakhon Nayok, Phetchaburi*, Prachuap Khiri Khan*, Ratchaburi, Samut Prakan*, Samut Sakhon, Saraburi, and Suphan Buri; Eastern Region: Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi*, Prachin Buri, Rayong*, Sa Kaeo, and Trat*; Northern Region: Chiang Mai*, Chiang Rai*, Lampang, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Phetchabun, Phitsanulok, and Tak; Northeastern Region: Khon Kaen*, Nakhon Ratchasima*, Udon Thani*, and Ubon Ratchathani; and Southern Region: Chumphon, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Surat Thani*, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phatthalung, Ranong*, Satun, Songkhla, Trang, and Yala.

*Except for areas designated as “Blue Zone” pilot tourist destinations.

This press release is to serve as reference only, and it is especially important to check in regularly on to stay current on what remains a very fluid and fast changing situation.

Show More

TAT Newsroom

The TAT International Public Relations Division works with traditional and online media channels to promote Thailand as a tourism destination for travellers worldwide.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights